Ballet Feet

Many people wonder what the “idyllic” feet for a classical ballet dancer are. “Ballet feet” are supposed to have a beautifully high arch, a high instep and a long achillies tendon. Not everyone has these feet, but sometimes that can be a good thing. People with lower arches have an easier time balancing on releve and the also do not have to spend anywhere near as much time strengthening their feet. I myself can not say that I have bad feet- I have a very high arch and a long achillies tendon, however this gives you more risk of injuring yourself whilst en pointe. Personally, I don’t think that it matters how your feet look, I think that it is about how you dance.

Dance is like dreaming with your feet

Photo Credit: http://www.personal.psu.edu/afr3/blogs/siowfa12/2012/12/en-pointe-can-lead-to-arthritis.html

One thought on “Ballet Feet

Leave a comment